Clinical Negligence
Price Slater Gawne
Home chevron_right Clinical Negligence chevron_right Loss of Sight Claims

Clinical Negligence

Loss of Sight Claims

If you/your child has suffered partial/full loss of eyesight due to Clinical Negligence, we can help

Contact us

For anyone, young or old, the loss of vision, from partial visual impairment to total blindness, can rob them of their independence and make what were routine and run-of-the-mill tasks much more challenging. And although today there is a wide range of support services and assistive technology designed to help those with blindness, losing eyesight can dramatically alter someone’s lifestyle, from how they earn a living, to how they navigate their own surroundings.

Oxygen starvation due to a birth injury

Failing to monitor the condition of the baby in utero or mistakes made during birth, may result in loss of sight.

If a healthcare professional fails to recognise that a baby is being deprived of oxygen in the womb, this can cause damage to the baby’s brain stem or visual cortex, leading them to be born blind or visually impaired.

Oxygen deprivation may also occur during birth, such as the umbilical cord becoming wrapped around the baby’s throat or shoulder dystocia preventing the baby’s head from emerging. If this is not addressed soon enough and results in the baby losing its eyesight, this could result in a blindness claim.

Brain injuries caused by surgical error

If a surgeon mistakenly damages the brain stem or visual cortex during surgery, such as cutting the nerves or blood vessels in this area of the brain, then it could cause the patient to lose their eyesight.

Mistakes during eye surgery

Surgical errors made during eye surgery, such as inserting the incorrect lens during cataract surgery or damaging the nerves or blood vessels in the vicinity, can result in a patient temporarily or permanently losing their vision. And failure to monitor any problematic signs following a surgical procedure, such as excessive swelling and bruising, could also be grounds for a Clinical Negligence claim.

Delay in diagnosis and treatment of conditions

With eye conditions such as glaucoma or cataracts, there may be only a small window of opportunity where some or all of the patient’s eyesight can be preserved. If a healthcare professional fails to spot signs of potentially threatening eye conditions or overlooks the symptoms highlighted by their patient, this delay could prevent the possibility of correcting the damage.

Delay in diagnosing and treating neurological conditions, such as a stroke or a brain tumour, can also lead to someone’s eyesight suffering irreparable damage.

If you or your child has suffered partial or full loss of eyesight due to Clinical Negligence, contact us on 03333 058375 or email ClinNeg@psg-law.co.uk to find out how we can help you.

Read our Clinical Negligence FAQs

Meet the Team

  • Mark Slater

    Director

    Mark Slater

    t:03333 058375

    e: mark.slater@psg-law.co.uk

  • Chris Gawne

    Director

    Chris Gawne

    t:03333 058375

    e: chris.gawne@psg-law.co.uk

  • Andrew Harrison

    Partner, Clinical Negligence

    Andrew Harrison

    t:07984 373688

    e: andrew.harrison@psg-law.co.uk

  • Grainne Barton

    Partner, Clinical Negligence

    Grainne Barton

    t:07931 389559

    e: grainne.barton@psg-law.co.uk

  • Sheromee Dhiman-Grewal

    Associate, Clinical Negligence

    Sheromee Dhiman-Grewal

    t:07805 034466

    e: sheromee.dhiman-grewal@psg-law.co.uk

  • Carole Watts

    Consultant, Clinical Negligence

    Carole Watts

    t:01353 664963

    e: carole.watts@psg-law.co.uk

  • Clare Tinker

    Associate, Paralegal, Clinical Negligence

    Clare Tinker

    t:0161 775 5955

    e: clare.tinker@psg-law.co.uk

  • Janet Johnson

    Consultant, Clinical Negligence

    Janet Johnson

    t:07717 810160

    e: janet.johnson@psg-law.co.uk

  • Jasmine Johnson

    Solicitor, Clinical Negligence

    Jasmine Johnson

    t:07983 479649

    e: jasmine.johnson@psg-law.co.uk

  • Joe Eley

    Partner, Clinical Negligence

    Joe Eley

    t:07949 439158

    e: joe.eley@psg-law.co.uk

  • Lauren Rhodes

    Solicitor, Clinical Negligence

    Lauren Rhodes

    t:07896 743917

    e: lauren.rhodes@psg-law.co.uk

  • Mairin Costello

    Senior Associate, Clinical Negligence

    Mairin Costello

    t:0282 565 5572

    e: mairin.costello@psg-law.co.uk

  • Michael James

    Solicitor, Clinical Negligence

    Michael James

    t:07946 458062

    e: michael.james@psg-law.co.uk

  • Niall Costello

    Partner, Clinical Negligence

    Niall Costello

    t:0282 565 5572

    e: niall.costello@psg-law.co.uk

  • Olivia Honaker

    Associate, Clinical Negligence

    Olivia Honaker

    t:07551 155864

    e: olivia.honaker@psg-law.co.uk

  • Rosamund Rhodes-Kemp

    Consultant, Clinical Negligence

    Rosamund Rhodes-Kemp

    t:01223 871542

    e: rosamund.rhodes-kemp@psg-law.co.uk

  • Sarah Barclay

    Consultant, Clinical Negligence

    Sarah Barclay

    t:01253 356051

    e: sarah.barclay@psg-law.co.uk

  • Sarah Ratcliffe

    Senior Associate, Clinical Negligence

    Sarah Ratcliffe

    t:07376 631270

    e: sarah.ratcliffe@psg-law.co.uk

  • Sophie Fox

    Partner, Clinical Negligence

    Sophie Fox

    t:07964 354451

    e: sophie.fox@psg-law.co.uk

  • Aiesha Barnes

    Solicitor, Clinical Negligence

    Aiesha Barnes

    t:07944 367944

    e: aiesha.barnes@psg-law.co.uk

  • Angela James

    Chartered Legal Executive, Clinical Negligence

    Angela James

    t:07376 631264

    e: angela.james@psg-law.co.uk

  • Michele Gregory

    Paralegal, Clinical Negligence

    Michele Gregory

    t:07721 126689

    e: michele.gregory@psg-law.co.uk

  • Natalie Staniforth

    Associate, Chartered Legal Executive, Clinical Negligence

    Natalie Staniforth

    t:07957 772621

    e: natalie.staniforth@psg-law.co.uk

What Our Clients Say About Us...

  • “Tenacious and committed. I am very grateful: I could not have wished for a better outcome.” Mrs JB

    1/9

  • “PSG handled the clinical negligence case for our daughter with care, compassion and professionalism at all times. They kept us well informed, translated the medical jargon into layman’s terms so we understood what was happening with the case and managed it through to a successful conclusion.” Mrs E

    2/9

  • “Price Slater Gawne to my mind is one of the best in this field. Their specialist clinical negligence team is incredibly strong. This firm is at the top of my list of personal recommendations when asked by friends and family.” Legal 500

    3/9

  • "I have recommended them due to their legal knowledge, organisation skills, friendly and approachable manner, professionalism, communication skills, guidance, teamwork and decision-making." Chambers and Partners

    4/9

  • “I would highly recommend anyone who feels they have been treated negligently to contact PSG.” Mr T

    5/9

  • "The level of expertise from the firm has been outstanding, covering all angles of the case." Chambers & Partners

    6/9

  • "PSG is outstanding in the clinical negligence field in my experience with their instructions always of the highest calibre, well prepared and set out, and they pursue the law in the greatest detail, providing an excellent service for their clients." Legal 500

    7/9

  • "Excellent and hard working – they are dogged in their determination to put right wrongs which have arisen as a result of medical negligence." Legal 500

    8/9

  • "The team is highly professional and understanding, providing clear communication both verbal and written. The overall service was extremely professional and supportive." Chambers and Partners

    9/9

Get in Touch

If you would like to speak with one of our expert lawyers, just call or email using the information below, or complete this form.

call03333 058375 mailinfo@psg-law.co.uk

Our Accreditations

Loading...
Loading...